FOE Paperback B FORMAT
zoom in
14.29€ -11% 12.72€
  • Κατόπιν παραγγελίας από το εξωτερικό

    Αποστέλλεται σε 2-3 εβδομάδες.

  • ISBN:


  • Έτος κυκλοφορίας


  • Εκδότης


"Nobel Laureate and two-time Booker prize-winning author of Disgrace and The Life and Times of Michael K, J. M. Coetzee reimagines Daniel DeFoe's classic novel Robinson Crusoe in Foe. In an act of breathtaking imagination, J.M Coetzee radically reinvents the story of Robinson Crusoe. In the early eighteenth century, Susan Barton finds herself adrift from a mutinous ship and cast ashore on a remote desert island. There she finds shelter with its only other inhabitants: a man named Cruso and his tongueless slave, Friday. In time, she builds a life for herself as Cruso's companion and, eventually, his lover. At last they are rescued by a passing ship, but only she and Friday survive the journey back to London. Determined to have her story told, she pursues the eminent man of letters Daniel Foe in the hope that he will relate truthfully her memories to the world. But with Cruso dead, Friday incapable of speech and Foe himself intent on reshaping her narrative, Barton struggles to maintain her grip on the past, only to fall victim to the seduction of storytelling itself. Treacherous, elegant and unexpectedly moving, Foe remains one of the most exquisitely composed of this pre-eminent author's works. 'A small miracle of a book. . . of marvellous intricacy and overwhelming power' Washington Post 'A superb novel' The New York Times South African author J. M. Coetzee was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 2003 and was the first author to win the Booker Prize twice for his novels Disgrace and The Life and Times of Michael K. His novel set during the South African apartheid, Age of Iron, winner of the Sunday Express Book of the Year award is also available in Penguin paperback."

J. M. Coetzee

J. M. Coetzee (Συγγραφέας)

Ο Τζ. Μ. Κούτσι γεννήθηκε το 1940 στο Κέιπ Τάουν. Σπούδασε στη Νότιο Αφρική και στις ΗΠΑ, όπου εργάστηκε ως καθηγητής πανεπιστημίου ως το 1983. Το 1984 εκλέχτηκε καθηγητής αγγλικής λογοτεχνίας στο Πανεπιστήμιο του Κέιπ Τάουν. Το 2002 μετακόμισε στην Αυστραλία, όπου και διαμένει. Η καριέρα του ως συγγραφέα ξεκίνησε το 1974. Έχει γράψει τα βιβλία: "Dusklands" (ελλ. μτφρ. "Σκοτεινές χώρες", 1974), "Στην καρδιά της χώρας" (1977), "Περιμένοντας τους βαρβάρους" (1980, Κρατικό Βραβείο Πεζογραφίας, το σημαντικότερο λογοτεχνικό βραβείο της Νότιας Αφρικής, βραβεία James Tait Black και Geoffrey Faber), "Βίος και Πολιτεία του Μάικλ Κ." (1983, βραβείο Booker, βραβείο Femina και Κρατικό Βραβείο Πεζογραφίας), "Foe" (ελλ. μτφρ. "Μια γυναίκα στο νησί του Ροβινσώνα", 1986), "Τα χρόνια του σιδήρου" (1990, βραβείο της Sunday Express για το Βιβλίο της Χρονιάς), "Ο άρχοντας της Πετρούπολης" (1994, Διεθνές Βραβείο Μυθοπλασίας των Irish Times), "Ατίμωση" (1999, βραβείο Booker και Commonwealth writers΄), "Ελίζαμπεθ Κοστέλο" (2003), "Slow man" (ελλ. μτφρ. "Ένας αργός άνθρωπος", 2005), τα αυτοβιογραφικά αφηγήματα "Σκηνές απ΄ τη ζωή ενός παιδιού" (1997, υποψήφιο για το National Book Critics Circle Award) και "Σκηνές απ΄ τη ζωή ενός νέου", καθώς και δοκίμια λογοτεχνικού περιεχομένου. Ο Τζ. Μ. Κούτσι ήταν ο πρώτος συγγραφέας που είχε την τιμή να του απονεμηθεί δύο φορές το βραβείο Booker. Το 2003 τιμήθηκε με το Νόμπελ Λογοτεχνίας. Έχει επίσης τιμηθεί με το βραβείο της Κοινοπολιτείας, το Prix Etranger Femina και έχει λάβει τρεις φορές την υψηλότερη τιμητική διάκριση στη χώρα του.

Δείτε όλα τα βιβλία του συγγραφέα

0.115 κιλά


Γράψε μια αξιολόγηση